Answered By: Lora Cowell Last Updated: May 01, 2015 Views: 6
Glad you asked!
This is the most common mistake students make when creating movies.
While you are working on your project (still editing), you SAVE YOUR PROJECT. This creates an editable a .mswmm file that relies on all of your movie components (images, video clips, audio clips) remaining in a stored location where the program can find and edit them. If you turn the project file in (or move it) without also exporting the components, your audience will see nothing more than RED X's where your content is suppose to be.
In order to compress all of your files into a final and portable project, you'll need to do what is known as RENDERING your project. This process embeds all components into the final project and creates a .wmv file. In Windows Movie Maker, you can create this file by selecting SAVE TO COMPUTER.
The .wmv is a single file that includes all components of your movie and can be shared via ema, or published on a video sharing site (YouTube, Facebook, etc.). Remember that this file is no longer editable, so keep your project file, just in case you need to make changes.